Product Review: Mary Kay Foundation Primer Sunscreen Broad Spectrum SPF 15

Hey there everyone! This is my second product review! This time I’ll keep going with facial products. This one is a foundation primer. So let’s start!

What does a facial primer do?

Those of you that have been around makeup know that after you wash your face, you need to get it ready for your foundation. Let’s face it, most of us don’t have smooth skin; we have bumps from blemishes, or just naturally bumpy skin. Primer smoothes your skin out so that the foundation will go on smoother. Not just that, but it will keep the foundation from smearing throughout the day. It gives it durability to what you are putting on your face. In other words, it makes everything stick well ( 🙂 ).

What makes Mary Kay’s primer better?

I’ve tried many primers before Mary Kay and I can say that I love this one! Why? It doesn’t leave my face greasy or feeling clogged.Other primers that I have used will have a leftover residue on my hands after application. Once on my face it leaves it feeling smooth and my skin can still breath. On top of my face-wash routine, with this primer I am adding protection and not just makeup. This has SPF 15, not much if this is the only thing you put on that provides protection against UV rays, but it’s better than nothing.

What about the product itself?

Let’s get down to the product itself. The key ingredient in this product is Silica, which is known to be an oil absorber, work as an anti-caking agent, and an optical diffuser (works to deflect light and give the illusion of smoother skin). It is suitable for sensitive skin, it is fragrance free, it is non-comedogenic (does not clog pores), and has been dermatologist tested. This primer is perfect for those who ear foundation and also for those who don’t and just want to make pores, wrinkles and fine lines less noticeable.

How do you use the primer?

This bit can sound a bit redundant to those who know about makeup, but nevertheless it is not common knowledge to most. For primer, whether Mary Kay or not, you will need a clean face and clean hands. You squeeze a small, not even dime size amount to your fingers. The application step can be done in many ways. Some will dot their face with the primer and then go back and blend it in, others will rub it between their fingers to warm up the primer which will make it easier to blend in. Neither one of the ways is necessarily wrong. It all depends on who you are and what you feel works best for you.

In my case, I alternate. The reason being that when I feel my skin is rebelling, if I rub the primer in between my fingers and then put it on it will be easier to apply. When I feel like my skin is happy with me, I can go in and dot my face and then go back and blend it in with no problem.

What is the price?

For protection of this caliber, I find that the price for this is very affordable and reasonable. For $16 you get sunscreen and primer in one bottle. Many drugstore primers are half of this but do not contain sunscreen in their ingredients. So let’s think about this, if you were to buy an okay primer from a drugstore and a sunscreen lotion you would end up spending at least the same amount. AT LEAST.

What else should I know?

Like with any other product, I will need to tell you that your skin needs to be hydrated for any product to have a lasting positive outcome. In other words, have a healthy lifestyle. Eat right, sleep enough, drink lots of water and keep active. With all this, you will have a successful experience with any and all beauty products no matter the brand, price, or ingredients.

Have any more questions feel free to leave a comment below. For orders please visit my website www.marykay.com/lcallejas. Please feel free also to follow me on twitter @LilianCallejas and like my page on facebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mary-Kay-Consultant-Lilian-Callejas/504821876245373

One thought on “Product Review: Mary Kay Foundation Primer Sunscreen Broad Spectrum SPF 15

Leave a Reply

