High4 ft IU in “Not Spring, Love, or Cherry Blossoms”

Okay, so sometimes it takes me a bit longer than usual to fall asleep… Unfortunately… and though I’m not so into the kpop scene right now (I’ve been listening to their indie and hip hop stuff right now) I just came across a song that I just want to listen to more while I wait for sweet sleep.

imageHigh4 seems to be a new group that has come out with their first single being one with IU as the featured artist. At first I didn’t want to hear it because I thought it would be a very pop song and as much as I have days when I like it, it doesn’t happen as often as before (unless it’s groups like Big Bang, 2NE1, 2PM, and the such). This song though is very nice to listen to though with this first single and makes me definitely want to see more of them. Of course it has that love theme to it, it but isn’t isn’t about puppy love (thank God! I need variety). It’s more based on the lack of having someone and wanting to hear something that lasts a lot longer…. At least that is what I get from this song.
The guys’ voices are nice and smooth. The music is also very smooth which is great because it’s simple and really lets you hear how they harmonize. You still can’t get away that awkwardly placed rapping section that I can’t deal with when listening to Korean pop.
Now, disclaimer… I love kpop and the Hallyu Wave and what not so I’m not bashing the way they do things…. it’s just that sometimes they just throw in random sections that seems to break the flow of the songs (I got a boy by snsd for example). Which is also much like this lovely disclaimer. 😉
Anyway… The MV is very simple and cute and it shows all the members clearly, introducing them each individually. I need to have time to find their live performance because I want to see what the cute dance at the end of the MV looks like throughout the song. The video has very little color except for the important props used by the high4 members and their outfits. I liked that even IU had an outfit that made her part of the the overall set and not had her stand out. I think this way the boys were able to draw more attention even though I felt like her face was shown more often than the boys (of course that makes sense because it really focused on individual parts of the song and the person who sang it).
Now I still don’t know who each of them are… because I just now really gave the song a listen, but let’s see… According to dkpopnews the members are Kyle (김 승구), Alex (김 알레산드), Baek Myung Han (백 명한), and Im Yeong Jun (임 영준). I don’t know their age or their position in the group… yet. It seems though there are two rappers and three vocals which is pretty balanced for a five member group (just like SHINee, Big Bang, 2PM, etc).
I’m excited to hear more from this group and see how far they will go. Vocals are on point for sure so that’ll definitely take them very far musically and esthetically speaking, these boys are nice to look at. 😉

I leave you with the video and the english translation to the lyrics. 🙂 Enjoy the song!

During the long winter, I hid myself in
A smelly brown coat, I quickened my steps
but people ask, why am I the only one who’s still like that?
then I looked around and it was Spring already

The sweet Spring is too much for me to handle
Me, who doesn’t even have anyone to walk with

Except me everyone is falling in love
and singing spring songs
Even if the flower petals bloom
and get blown gently in front of my eyes
I want to hear about something else
Not about spring, love, or cherry blossoms
that will all be swept away

not spring love of cherry blossoms
not spring love of cherry blossoms
not spring love of cherry blossoms

don’t even try to make me move
with words that aren’t meaningful
even if I go out,
there’s nothing to do

The sweet Spring is too much for me to handle
Me, who doesn’t even have a person to walk with

Except me everyone is falling in love
and singing spring songs
Even if the flower petals bloom
and get blown gently in front of my eyes
I want to hear about something else
Not about spring, love, or cherry blossoms
that will all be swept away

I sing song lyrics that are more desperate than others
why am I alone in the midst of so many couples?
the same street, same clothes as yesterday
I’m still the same, but why does the world seem so different?

No need for walking down this Spring street with someone but
those memories that everyone wants to stay in
I want to have some too. Even the falling cherry blossom pedals
Aren’t even the end, but instead, the start of Spring

actually, I’ve been thinking back to the old times recently
just walking, makes me miss you
I wonder if I can feel you again but
then you know what

Sweet Spring is too much for me to handle
who doesn’t even have a person to walk with

Except me everyone is falling in love
and singing spring songs
Even if the flower petals bloom
and get blown gently in front of my eyes
I want to hear about something else
Not about spring, love, or cherry blossoms
that will all be swept away

not spring love of cherry blossoms
not spring love of cherry blossoms
not spring love of cherry blossoms
not spring love of cherry blossoms

Leave a Reply

