Review: Too Cool For School – Dinplatz Lip Balm

Am I doing too many reviews on here? Maybe, but I actually like doing these more now a days. Anyway, time to review another product! This time, it’s still another product from a Korean brand, but I’ve moved away from Tony Moly for now (I have one more product I want to review).

So let’s start!

20160324_205449.jpg

I’m going to review this Too Cool For School lip balm from their Dinoplatz collection. You can find this product at Sephora. They do have a website but their online store is not available just yet.

20160324_205911.jpg

The shade I got was “#1 Spilled Wine”. This balm is made in Korea and carries 13grams or .45ounces. It retails at $15 USD. This particular shade’s ingredients are as follows:

“Diisostearyl Malate, Mineral Oil, Trimethylolpropane Triisostearate, Polybutene, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Silica, Hydroxystearic Acid, Butylene/Ethylene/Styrene Copolymer, Ethylene/Propylene/Styrene Copolymer, Fragrance, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Polyglyceryl-2 Triisostearate, Glyceryl Caprylate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Rosa Canina Seed Extract, Aluminum Hydroxide, Dimethicone, Red 34, Red 30 Lake, Red 27, Iron Oxides, Yellow 5 Lake.” Sephora Ingredient List

20160324_205504.jpg

Let’s start off with packaging. I think the packaging is super cute. It is very sleek and classic with its white casing. I love the idea of a dinosaur theme and how it is printed. It is not too overwhelming and doesn’t have too many colors. I do kind of wish that it wasn’t in a pot but in a squeeze tube, but that’s just me trying to be hygienic.

Let’s move on to the actual product. Koreans love their tints! This product is a balm but with a pretty subtle tint. Yes, I am aware that in the pot it looks very opaque, but once you put it on your lips it just adds a subtle color. The downside is that the tint doesn’t actually stain your lips. It could just be the tint is not strong enough to stain, but that would’ve been cool if it did that. The actual balm part is alright. I find that it doesn’t last long on my lips, but then again my lips tend to be really dry (scrub and moisturize and all). I do have to reapply quite frequently.

20160325_150449.jpg

Texture wise this balm is a bit on the stickier side. It doesn’t feel waxy or slimy. Once you apply it to your lips, it’s a little bit on the heavier side (you need more to cover the lips well). It no longer feels sticky once you apply to lips, but it feels like you have something a bit waxy.

20160325_150932.png

The scent to this product is amazing! It has a fruity, berry smell to it. The scent does tend to stick around a bit longer than other balms and is a bit stronger on the lips than others. I personally really like the scent and love that I can smell it for a while, but if you don’t like strong scents or prolonged scents after application, this might not be for you.

I do want to try the other colors and see how they differ to this one. Eventually I will get around to it. I think if you have dry lips every once in while, I think you could really like this product. If you have extremely dry lips like myself, it might not do enough.

I hope this review is of some help to you. Until next time~!!

XOXO

 

Leave a Reply

