Review: Tony Moly Easy Touch Waterproof Brow Pencil

These reviews are getting a little more frequent. Do you like them or not? I personally like writing them, because I get to spill on my favorite products and maybe not so favorite.

 

This review will be on this Tony Moly product. This product I bought at my local Tony Moly store, but you can purchase the same product at Urban Outfitters though you can only find one shade on the website. They might get the other shades in the near future, but if you can’t find your shade there or don’t have a Tony Moly near you there are online stores that house various Korean brands. At the Tony Moly stores it does retail for $11 and I think on UO it retails at $10.

20160409_140349.jpg

 

The ingredients for this product (Grey Brown) are as follows:

Cyclomethicone, Iron Oxides (CI 77499), Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Mica, calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Polyethylene, Cresin, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Silica, C12-15 Alkyl Ethylhexanoate, Polyglyceryl-2, Triisostearate, Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Hydrogenated Coconut Oil.

Let’s move on to what it claims. It claims to be waterproof, long lasting and provide a natural color. I will go into detail about these three claims in this post.

20160322_135919.jpg

I do honestly love this product and have gone and bought a backup of this pencil. At first I did think this specific color was too dark for me but it was only because I didn’t know pigmented it was. I thought this product was nice and allowed me to get my brows done in a faster amount of time. If you go in with a light hand, those of you who have dark brown to pitch black hair will be able to get away with this without it being too dark. I don’t know how the other two shades will fair for everyone so unfortunately I can’t speak for anything else but this one shade, but I don’t think there would be much difference with the other shades.

20160409_140451.jpg

It is an insanely waterproof product. When I swatched this product for this blog post, it was not enough for me to just use a makeup wipe and wash my hands with soap and water. I really had to scrub my hand to get the product off. My brows don’t fade at all either throughout a long day. I tend to sweat a lot on my face and have not found that the product wears off any.

This product has a waxy consistency which means you don’t need anything more to set your brows. The downside to it being waxy is that you have to work fast to comb them out afterwards. I do find that it dries pretty quickly and therefore have to apply a bit more pressure for my spooly to work through the hairs to blend the product in. I think if anything, this would be the only con for me with this product.

20160409_140531.jpg

I think maybe a downside to some who dye their hair would be the availability of shades. From what I have been able to see in my research of this product and what they have available in stores, there are only three shades. With that being said, I’m sure that one can find a shade similar to what they need (if you’re not too picky that is).

If I were to compare it to the Mary Kay brow pencil, they are similar in pigmentation but vary in longevity. Mary Kay brow pencils are not waterproof or waxy. I say if you use this pencil, you would have to set your brows with a gel to be able to keep them in place. If I were to compare it with brow kits like ELF’s or Anastasia, it takes half the time to do. I love these two kits respectively, but if I don’t have the time to sit there and take my time with my brows I prefer the Tony Moly pencil.

Overall, I love this product and will continue to use it. It has kicked out my previous first place which was the Mary Kay brow pencil. I think even though it is a bit more pricey than my Mary Kay brow pencil, it is worth the couple of extra dollars.

Until Next Time,

XOXOXO

2 thoughts on “Review: Tony Moly Easy Touch Waterproof Brow Pencil

  1. wanghui138138 says:

    I just bought one as well, and it works great! The color is natural but also visible, and easily blendable. Great post.

Leave a comment